DocuGeek

Sherlock Holmes: The True Story Documentary

Posted on: May 26, 2011

This is a review I wrote for the Hesed Books and Gifts blog a while back, but I couldn’t help but share it here too as I really loved the documentary. Enjoy!

While I would never have gone so far as to call myself a Sherlock Holmes expert, I felt pretty comfortable in my knowledge of everyone’s favorite detective as well as the lore surrounding Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and the writing of the Holmes stories.

That’s why I was pleasantly surprised when I stumbled across the documentary Sherlock Holmes: The True Story, which outlines the life and times of Dr. Joseph Bell—the real-life individual who inspired the character of Holmes.  Previous to watching this documentary, I thought the idea of Holmes being based on a real-life counterpart was a myth.

Less than an hour in length, I would say that this documentary is a must-watch for any Holmes fan. While there have been some comments that it’s a very Americanized look at Holmes, I still think it’s worth viewing. I know that I learned a lot, both about Bell, and about Doyle, who I think may have based the character of Watson partly on himself, since Doyle was an assistant to Dr. Bell for a year before he completed medical school.

You can watch the documentary for free on the site TopDocumentaryFilms.com, or you can watch the embedded version below. Either way, enjoy, and be sure to tell me what you think of it!

Seen any other great documentaries on Holmes or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle? If so, I’d love to hear about them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Top Rated

Categories

Twitter

